Using the Text Chat

The Text Box
In the lower-left corner of your screen, you'll see the text box. This box is where all text communication will be posted. It can tell you what channel you're in or 


Public
Every room has a public text channel. By pressing Enter or clicking on the chat bar, you can type a message. Press Enter again to send your message. Anything you send to this channel will be sent to the whole room you are in. Your message will appear next to your name in the chatbox in the same color as the nameplate floating above your head.

 

Private Volumes
Areas with blue outlines or blue bubbles (we call them "cones of silence") are called "private volumes." 

Once inside of the private volume, another tab will appear on your chat box. Any text typed into this box will only be visible to other members inside the same private volume. You can still communicate with everyone else in the public chat, you simply have to click the Public tab first. As you can see in the following image, an indicator in the lower-right corner of the screen will appear to inform you that you are in a private volume


Whisper

The third form of text chat is the direct messaging colloquially referred to as 'whisper.' It's often called this because you are sending a message directly to someone that no one else can see. There are a couple ways of whispering someone. The first is to type "/whisper" and then their display name in the chat bar followed by the message you would like to send. As you can see in the following screenshot, this will open a new tab on the text box with that person's name. Once the new tab is open, you can type your messages normally. No one else will be able to see this communication.

The second method is a bit more complicated, but is an excellent fail-safe, if you don't know or are unsure of the exact spelling of the name of the person you are trying to reach.

Find the target person's name in the user list in the upper-left corner of the screen, then left-click their name. The fly-out menu will have a number of options to choose from. Click "Send Private Message" to open up the private channel to that specific person. Once the new tab is open, you can start typing normally.


 

Have more questions? Submit a request

0 Comments

Article is closed for comments.
Powered by Zendesk